Love for a Caged Squirrel

Value: Love

Sub-Value: Empathy

squirrel in cage

In December 2010, when my family and I visited Sri Lanka, we were out for lunch at a local restaurant. While waiting for the food to arrive, I was occupied watching a squirrel playfully running around on the grass.

After a few minutes, a waiter from the restaurant trapped the squirrel in a cage and left it on the grass. The squirrel was squirming around in the cage, trying its best to find a way out.

I felt very sad that the innocent squirrel was trapped in a cage.

After 20 minutes or so my food arrived and I had a scrumptious meal, but I couldn’t take my eyes off the poor squirrel. I told my parents about the squirrel and we came up with an idea. I asked the waiter if he could free the squirrel as I felt upset that it was trapped. He nodded in agreement and went out to unlock the cage.

The squirrel immediately jumped out, ran in circles around the cage, and then scurried away into the wilderness.

Learning

One must have love and kindness towards animals and, of course, for all the beings in the world.

Shared by Anusree- PVP class

Aside

Leave a comment