Embracing Imperfection

Value- Right conduct, Peace

Sub value- Patience, Tolerance, Understanding

There was many a time, during my childhood days, I could distinctly recall my mom cook breakfast food for dinner every now and then. I recollect one evening in particular, when she had made breakfast  food for dinner after a long  and hard day at work. That evening, my mom placed a plate of eggs, sausage, and  an extremely burnt toast in front of my dad.

I remember waiting, with bated breath, to see if anyone had noticed!

To my chagrin,  my dad reached for his toast,  flashed a smile at my mom, and asked me how my day was at school.

I don’t remember what I told him that night, but I do remember vividly, that he smeared butter and jelly on that toast and ate every bite!

burnt toast

When I got up from the table that evening, I  heard my mom apologize to my dad for burning the toast. And I’ll never forget what he said: ‘Dear, I love burnt toast.’

Later that night, I went to kiss Dad good night and I asked him if He really liked the burnt toast.

He wrapped me in his arms and said, ‘Debbie, your Mom put in a hard day at work today and she’s real tired. And besides-a little burnt toast never hurt anyone!

 

 

Learning

Life and relations are too precious to be lost for the sake of trivial matters. Tolerance, patience and understanding help to maintain any relationship. Example set by an elder or a parent as in the above story, will go a long way in imparting this value to children, for whom parents are an ideal.

 

Leave a Reply

